top of page

Introduction

I’ve been always interested in medical field. I did not really know what I wanted to do in the medical field, which is why I decided to shadow a nurse practitioner, Adina S. Gutstein, for my senior Capstone project. I started shadowing Adina in June 2015 and continued each Wednesday until May 18, 2016 (total of 141 hours). I am thankful for this opportunity, which helped me to decide what I want to do in the future. When I started shadowing Adina, I thought I wanted to do research only. When my grandfather was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer in 2013 I got an internship on cancer research at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. I really liked research and the work in the lab, but as soon as I started shadowing her I wanted to work with the patients as well. My goal from shadowing a nurse was to learn how to work with people who need an assistance. It is really important to make the patients comfortable so they can open up to you and talk about their concerns. Adina was a fabulous example of a nurse that is dedicated and wants what is best for her patients. She will do anything she can to make them happy and healthier.


bottom of page